Third Church

For nearly a decade, I’ve heard stories of this church.  Its legend began with Aimee Semple McPherson, charismatic evangelist and founder of The Church of the Foursquare Gospel, where I have spent a great deal of my life as a Christian.  The legend has continued through the ministry of Matthew and Caroline Barnett, known for their restorative work at The Dream Center.

Angelus Temple, Los Angeles
March 30, 2014

Waiting outside the large structure for my friends to join me, I couldn’t help but notice how diverse this church is.  I have participated in a number of their outreaches to the community and found that the church truly reflects the neighborhood it serves.  I saw a representation of all ages, ethnicities, economic statuses, social statuses, and local geographies (many used the massive parking structure, while others walked in off the streets).  The energy of the place was contagious, people were out of their seats singing, clapping, raising their hands, inviting the Spirit of God to be present and to change them.  A young man working on his recovery shared his testimony.  Just being in the room made me excited about being a Christian.

In the best Pentecostal style, Matthew Barnett delivered the message, beginning with Matthew 9:35-38, and moving throughout the Bible, telling story after story, giving testimony after testimony.  “Be moved and move!” he told us over and over.  He spoke of how Jesus was moved with compassion, but he didn’t stop there, he acted on that compassion and healed people, transforming lives.  He told stories of times when he had been moved with compassion and that led to his moving along with the movement of God.  Everything was centered around God’s presence in the world and in our lives, and was an opportunity to celebrate God.

After the service, I felt as though I had left a conference where I had been recharged and sent out once again to be a light in the world.  I wonder if it is exhausting for the staff and pastors to put on this type of an event each Sunday.  I know how I’ve felt after completing my part in a special event or retreat or mission trip; the relief I’ve experienced after it was over, knowing we played our parts well, and the joy of remembering how God showed up in ways beyond anything we could have planned.  As I prepare to return to church service in the near future, I hope this time of wandering through various churches can help me to hold on to both these memories–the memory of being able to experience God through the work and service of the pastors, and the memory of participating in creating space for people to come and experience God together.

This entry was posted in Church and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment